



LRAPA BOARD OF DIRECTORS AGENDA ITEM SUMMARY

Preview of Appointments to Boards and Committees and Election of 2023 Officers

Meeting Date: January 12, 2023 Agenda Item No. 8

Department: Director's Office Staff Contacts: Debby Wineinger – debby@lrapa.org

Contact Telephone: 736-1056 x219

ISSUE STATEMENT AND SUMMARY

A number of appointments and election decisions are made by the LRAPA Board early each year during the February meeting. The upcoming appointments and elections are previewed here to allow board members additional time to consider these decisions.

BACKGROUND

The LRAPA Board appoints members of the Citizens Advisory Committee and Budget Committee as vacancies occur or terms expire. In addition, the LRAPA Board elects a Board chair and vice-chair each year, usually at the February meeting.

Citizens Advisory Committee. The LRAPA Board periodically appoints or reappoints persons to the Advisory Committee. Three-year terms are staggered to ensure continuity of committee activities. The Advisory Committee consists of at least seven and not more than fifteen members representing several areas of interest specified in Oregon statutes and LRAPA rules.

The following members terms expire in 2023. They will be given the opportunity to reapply.

- Terry Richardson, General Public March 2023
- Shane Ruddell, AG February 2023

Budget Committee. The LRAPA Budget Committee consists of 18 members, the nine members of the LRAPA Board of Directors plus nine other members of the community. Budget committee members are recruited individually by board members who nominate them for appointment by the Board. Budget committee members are appointed to 3-year terms and can be reappointed to subsequent terms. Budget members expiring or are vacant, appointments or reappointments will be required in February in preparation for budget meetings in March-May. **Budget committee members are only required to**

attend the March and April meetings.

The following are confirmed Budget Committee members, waiting for conformation, and vacant positions that need to have members appointed during the February Board meeting.

Available for FY 23/24	Term ends	Budget Committee Appointee	Board Member	Jurisdiction
Confirmed	February 2025	Steve Schmunk	Joe Pishioneri Springfield City Councilor	Springfield
Confirmed	February 2025	Ruth Linoz	Terry Fitzpatrick	Springfield
Confirmed	February 2025	Dawn Kinyon	Bryan Cutchen City of Oakridge Mayor	Oakridge
Confirmed	February 2024	Lisa Arkin	Matt Keating Eugene City Councilor	Eugene
	February 2023	Adam Rue	Jeannine Parisi – to confirm if Adam Rue will be renewing his term	Eugene
		VACANT	Jenna Knee	Eugene
	Michelle Webber Resigned due to City Council position	VACANT	David Loveall - Lane County Commissioner	Lane County
		VACANT	Mike Fleck Cottage Grove City Councilor	Cottage Grove
		VACANT	Howard Saxion	Eugene

Election of Officers. Although it is not mandatory, the LRAPA board has traditionally rotated the offices among the local participants represented on the board. In case you wish to continue the rotation, the attached list shows the officers since the agency was formed in 1968. The previous year's vice-chair traditionally becomes chair for the current year. It is also possible to re-appoint the current chair for another year as has been done a number of times in the past.

During the year, the vice-chair participates in agenda review sessions before monthly board meetings with the board chair and the director. This keeps the vice-chair informed as to what is happening with

the board and the director and makes it easier for that person to lead meetings if the chair is absent. It is also helpful in the transition from year to year when the vice-chair for one year will likely be elected to the office of chair in the following year.

The following Board members terms expiring in 2023.

- Jeannine Parisi, Eugene June 2023
- Howard Saxion, Eugene July 2023

NOTE: Will have to reapply with the City of Eugene to be considered for reappointment.

- City of Cottage will have to reappoint Mike Fleck
- Lane County will have to appoint replacement for Joe Berney

BOARD ACTION

This background summary is for information and to facilitate discussion in preparation for the February decision making.

STAFF RECOMMENDATION - None at this time.

SUGGESTED MOTION - None at this time.

<u>Year</u>	Chair/Jurisdiction	Vice-Chair/Jurisdiction
2022	Joe Pishioneri/ Springfield City Councilor	Jeannine Parisi/Eugene
		Kathy Holston/Oakridge City Mayor
2021	Joe Pishioneri/ Springfield City Councilor	Kathy Holston/Oakridge City Mayor
2020	Joe Pishioneri/ Springfield City Councilor	Kathy Holston/Oakridge City Mayor
2019	Mike Fleck/Cottage Grove	Joe Pishioneri/Springfield
2018	Jay Bozievich/Lane County	Mike Fleck/Cottage Grove
2017	Jeannine Parisi/Eugene	Jay Bozievich/Lane County
2016	Jeannine Parisi/Eugene	Jay Bozievich/Lane County
2015	Mike Fleck/Cottage Grove	Jeannine Parisi/Eugene
2014	Mike Fleck/At-Large (CG)	Jeannine Parisi/Eugene
2013	Bill Brommelsiek/At-Large	Mike Fleck/ At-Large
2012	Bill Brommelsiek/At-Large	Mike Fleck/Cottage Grove
2011	David Monk/Eugene	Bill Brommelsiek/At-Large
2010	Glenn Fortune/Oakridge	David Monk/Eugene
2009	Bill Carpenter/At-Large (Springfield)	Glenn Fortune/Oakridge
2008	David Monk/Eugene	Bill Carpenter/At-Large (Springfield)
2007	Faye Stewart/Lane County	Earl Koenig/Eugene
2006	Dave Ralston/Springfield	Faye Stewart/Lane County
2005	Dave Ralston/Springfield	Gary Rayor/Eugene
2004	Shannon McCarthy/Eugene	Dave Ralston/Springfield
2003	Pete Sorenson/Lane County	Shannon McCarthy/Eugene
2002	Carol Tannenbaum/At-Large	Pete Sorenson/Lane County
2001	Betty Taylor/Eugene	Carol Tannenbaum/At-Large
2000	Betty Taylor/Eugene	Pat Patterson/Cottage Grove
1999	Al Johnson/Eugene	Betty Taylor/Eugene

1998	Al Johnson/Eugene	Gary Whitney/At-Large
1997	Al Johnson/Eugene	Maureen Maine/Springfield
1996	Pat Patterson/Cottage Grove	Al Johnson/Eugene
1994	Steve Dodrill/Eugene	Terry Callahan/Oakridge
1993	Terry Callahan/Oakridge	Steve Dodrill/Eugene
1992	George Wojcik/Springfield	Terry Callahan/Oakridge
1991	George Wojcik/Springfield	Darrell Williams/Cottage Grove
1990	Emily Schue/Eugene	Chris Larson/Springfield
1989	Ellie Dumdi/Lane County	Emily Schue/Eugene
1988	Rich Gorman/Springfield	Ellie Dumdi/Lane County
1987	Betty Horvath/Cottage Grove	Rich Gorman/Springfield
1986	Emily Schue/Eugene John Lively	Betty Horvath/Cottage Grove
	/At-Large	
1985	Richard Hansen/Eugene	John Lively/At-Large
1984	Bill Rogers/Lane County	Richard Hansen/Eugene
1983	Sandra Rennie/Springfield	Bill Rogers/Lane County
1982	Bill Whiteman/Cottage Grove	Sandra Rennie/Springfield
1981	Bill Hamel/Eugene	Bill Whiteman/Cottage Grove
1980	Otto t'Hooft/Lane County	Bill Hamel/Eugene
1979	Bob Adams/Springfield	Otto t'Hooft/Lane County
1978	Jack Delay/Eugene	Keith Bates/Springfield
1977	Bob Adams/Springfield	Jack Delay/Eugene
1976	Nancy Hayward/Lane County	Bob Adams/Springfield

1975	Gus Keller/Eugene	Bob Wood/Lane County
1974	Nancy Hayward/Lane County	Gus Keller/Eugene
1973	Nancy Hayward/Lane County	Darwin Courtwright/Springfield
1972	Wickes Beal/Eugene	Nancy Hayward/Lane County
1971	Wickes Beal/Eugene	Darwin Courtwright/Springfield
1970	Orlo Bagley/Cottage Grove Charles Teague/Eugene	Wickes Beal/Eugene
1969	Frank Elliott/Lane County Charles Teague/Eugene	Darwin Courtwright/Springfield
1968	Frank Elliott/Lane County	Bruce Lassen/Eugene L. H. Wojcik/Springfield