Asbestos Overview

Asbestos Overview

Asbestos is the name of a group of naturally-occurring fibrous minerals that are heat-resistant, strong and extremely durable. Asbestos has historically been used in over 4,000 building products because of these properties. In addition to boiler and pipe insulation applications, asbestos has been used to make a wide range of construction materials which include cement siding, sprayed-on decorative ceiling texture, ceiling and floor tiles, window putty, roofing shingles and felt, adhesives, as well as the paper backing of vinyl floor coverings.

Inhaling asbestos fibers can cause cancer and related diseases. For this reason, it is required to hire a certified inspector to survey a renovation or demolition project prior to starting the work. This survey will identify regulated asbestos-containing materials that will be disturbed or removed in order to complete your project. Once identified, proper techniques can be applied to minimize the risk of exposure and to dispose of the materials safely.

Removal of asbestos is regulated by LRAPA in Lane County, Oregon, under LRAPA’s Title 43 – Asbestos Requirements rules.

Curious About Asbestos?

Check out some of our informational guides below!

Asbestos In the Home

Asbestos Booklet | A Homeowners Guide. Asbestos in the Home.

Commercial Asbestos Removal

Commercial Asbestos Removal

LRAPA Asbestos Rules

Title 43 - Asbestos Requirements

Residential Asbestos Removal

Residential Asbestos Removal

Asbestos Documents

Asbestos Forms
& Resources

Find asbestos abatement notification forms, ASN-4 Asbestos Waste Shipment Reporting forms, Licensed Oregon Asbestos Abatement Contractors, Accredited Asbestos Inspectors, and more.

LRAPA monitors air quality throughout Lane County with eight regulatory-grade monitors and over 90 commercial-grade air sensors. Air Quality Index values are updated hourly.

Find the current air quality, look up the closest monitor to you, and learn more about the Air Quality Index (AQI) on the Current Air Quality Page.

LRAPA regulates the burning of wood and yard debris, known as “outdoor burning,” in Lane County. LRAPA also enforces home wood heating – such as fireplaces and wood stoves – opacity ordinances for the cities of Eugene, Springfield and Oakridge. Seasonal and daily restrictions can exist for both forms of burning. Check to see if there are any active burning curtailments in effect on the burning restrictions webpage.
LRAPA logo
LRAPA is responsible for issuing air permits to commercial and industrial operations with emissions above a certain threshold. Check to see if your business needs a permit by following our 5-step guide on our Permitting Overview webpage.

Asbestos is the name of a group of naturally occurring fibrous minerals that are heat-resistant, strong and extremely durable. Asbestos has historically been used in over 4,000 building products because of these properties.

Asbestos can cause lung cancer, asbestosis and mesothelioma. There is no safe level of exposure to friable asbestos.

LRAPA regularly solicits public comment on proposed agency actions such as rule changes, proposed air permits, and the agency’s annual budget. LRAPA also hosts monthly Board of Director and Citizen Advisory Committee meetings.

Learn more about these public comment window and public meetings on our News, Notices & Public Calendar webpage.

The physical environment is a crucial component of any individual’s health and well-being.  Every community needs access to safe air, land and water.  LRAPA has curated together a collation of topics commonly asked about by the community to provide information, important details, and connect interested community members with resources.

Explore the many topics of information on our Community Center webpage.

LRAPA is the local air authority responsible for monitoring Lane County’s air and administering programs that protect and improve air quality. LRAPA was founded in 1968 as an intergovernmental agreement between the cities of Springfield and Eugene. Today’s intergovernmental agreement includes Lane County and the cities of Cottage Grove, Eugene, Oakridge, and Springfield.